Who we are

Find out who makes up the Rede Cultura 2027 Network


REDE CULTURA 2027 is a platform that brings together cultural agents from the entire region stretching between Castanheira de Pera and Arruda dos Vinhos, Tomar and Nazaré. A total of 26 municipalities have decided to come together to apply for the 2017 title of European Capital of Culture, making it possible to find out who we are, where we are and what we do.



When it comes to our homeland, we know what is happening and where. We can write ourselves into the programme and find out what others are doing. When it comes to granting desires, we can book a trip or a special weekend. If we’re given a theme, an unexpected invitation can be sent to a friend. Here is our programme.



We don’t quite know what the path we’ll take looks like yet, because we’ve only just started walking. For now, our destination is still only a meeting. As we walk together, desires and wills will be born from the conversations we have along the way. It will be from this journey we go on together that bridges and other experiences will be born.

Rede Cultura 2027

General advice

Gonçalo Lopes, President

Rui Anastácio, Municipality of Alcanena
Hermínio Rodrigues, Municipality of Alcobaça
Pedro Folgado, Municipality of Alenquer
João Guerreiro, Municipality of Alvaiázere
António Domingues, Municipality of Ansião
André Rijo, Municipality of Arruda dos Vinhos
Raúl Castro, Municipality of Batalha
Ricardo Fernandes, Municipality of Bombarral
José Nunes, Municipality of Cadaval
Vitor Marques, Municipality of Caldas da Rainha
António Henriques, Municipality of Castanheira de Pera
Jorge Abreu, Municipality of Figueiró dos Vinhos
Gonçalo Lopes, Municipality of Leiria
João de Carvalho, Municipality of Lourinhã
Aurélio Ferreira, Municipality of Marinha Grande
Walter Chicharro, Municipality of Nazaré
Filipe Daniel, Municipality of Óbidos
Luís Albuquerque, Municipality of Ourém
António Lopes, Municipality of Pedrógão Grande
Henrique Bertino, Municipality of Peniche
Pedro dos Santos, Municipality of Pombal
Jorge Vala, Municipality of Porto de Mós
José Quintino, Municipality of Sobral de Monte Agraço
Anabela Freitas, Municipality of Tomar
Pedro Ferreira, Municipality of Torres Novas
Laura Rodrigues, Municipality of Torres Vedras
Padre Gonçalo Diniz, Diocese of Leiria-Fátima
Rui Pedrosa, Polytechnic Institute of Leiria
João Coroado, Polytechnic Institute of Tomar
António Poças, NERLEI - Associação Empresarial da Região de Leiria

Strategic board

Prof. João Bonifácio Serra, President

Acácio de Sousa
Ana Umbelino
Anabela Graça
António Poças 
Dóris Santos
Hugo Ferreira
João Luz
Joaquim Ruivo
Marco Daniel Duarte
Margarida Moleiro
Nicolau Borges
Patrícia Martins
Paulo Lameiro
Samuel Rama
Sofia Rino

Executive group

Paulo Lameiro, Coordinator

Rita Grácio
Vera Lagoa
Patrícia Martins